Skip to content ↓

Key Stage 4 Overview

The Key Stage 4 curriculum

The Key Stage 4 curriculum UCC is divided into two parts: the core subjects that all students must study and the options.

The Core Subjects:

The core subjects are those which all students must take. 

Students will take the following subjects in Year 10, no matter which options you choose:

Mathematics                         (1 GCSE)

English Language                   (1 GCSE)

English Literature                  (1 GCSE)

Science                                 (2 or 3 GCSEs)


Non- Examined Subjects:


PDE: Guidance, and aspects of RE and Citizenship

The Options Subjects:

Students choose 4 subjects from the following list:

  • Art
  • BTEC Tech Award in Art & Design
  • Business Studies
  • Citizenship
  • Design Technology 
  • Drama
  • Food Preparation and Nutrition
  • French
  • Geography
  • German
  • History
  • Computer Science
  • Music
  • PE Option (GCSE or Cambridge National)
  • Religious Studies
  • Spanish

Each option choice is a GCSE or equivalent.

Students can only choose a language if they have been studying it in year 9.

This LINK will take you to more details on the exam board details for each subject.